(Funk / "Jozi" Soul) 



Duane joined the Newtown line up in 2008 and was with them until early 2011. Newtown gained quite a following during their time on the circuit and played many of SA’s larger shows and festivals including Splashy Fen, Rocking the Daisies, Oppikoppi and Jo’burg burning.

Some other Newtown achievements include the single “Pretty Pictures” being playlisted on Yfm and “I’m Ok” being synced on a TV commercial. Their debut album “The Bridge” was released mid 2011.

Newtown were:

Ryan Norwood-Young: Guitar
Amy Difford: Bass
Douglas Rodgers: Drums
Pebbles Gounta: Vocals
Ernest Royeppen: Trumpet
Thomas Dancer: Soprano / Tenor Saxophone
Duane Arthur: Alto Saxophone

(All songs written by Newtown)